“If an 8-year-old girl has a really hard time in school because of her short hair and boyish clothes, and is bullied for that, that’s not her pathology—it’s the world’s.”

by dominicdemeyn

This is an interesting and, to me, uplifting article about transgender (children), because it introduces parents who want the best for their children, no matter how hard it is to achieve that. I often wonder what would’ve happened to my life if I or someone else with influence had realized I was trans. I wonder if I actually would have been considered trans, as I was acting more like a boy when I was young, but would that have made me trans enough?

Eventhough I had surgery (a major operation) I still sometimes wonder if I should be considered trans. I’m just usually a weird, in-between, sort of person, that doesn’t seem to fit well in any group….maybe it’s time to create my own….

Or maybe I should just get over this whole trans (*) thing, since I had my operation and I should just be happy now. I’ve done the almost impossible and have had a gender edit without the need to see a psychologist or take hormones.

But I’m not so happy and I’m still interested in trans stuff. Gender still affects me, and thus I will continue to think about it. I can’t just seem just to accept that it is (so simple) and tied directly to biology. Having parts of my (‘gender I.D.’) removed surgically, I sort of have a different perspective on this. Also, I don’t think I was ever cis-gendered, but can’t really think of strong evidence for transgenderism, either.

Anyway, this post was only meant to introduce the article

‘S/He: Parents of transgender children are faced with a difficult decision, and it’s one they have to make sooner then they ever imagined.’

which can be found here: http://nymag.com/news/features/transgender-children-2012-6/

 

 

